ANNA Money vs Tide: business account comparison

By the Business Bank Index editorial team
Last updated 11 October 2026
Fact checked on 11 October 2026 against 3 primary sources

We checked the fees, eligibility and availability on this page against the provider's own pages and the regulator. 8 corrections made, listed in our corrections log.

Snapshot

ANNA Money and Tide compared on the points that usually decide a business account: account type, monthly fee, currency support, eligibility and where each one is available.

ANNA Money figures as of 5 June 2026Tide figures as of 29 May 2026Last updated 11 October 2026

General information, not financial, legal, or tax advice. There is no single best account. The right fit depends on your business. Verify current terms and eligibility with each provider before applying.

ANNA Money and Tide suit different businesses. Use the comparison below to weigh account type, fees, currency support and eligibility against how your company operates, then confirm the latest terms with each provider. Figures are shown as of 5 June 2026 for ANNA Money and 29 May 2026 for Tide.

ANNA Money vs Tide at a glance

Figures from each provider's published terms. ANNA Money as of 5 June 2026. Tide as of 29 May 2026. Verify current terms before applying.
FeatureANNA MoneyTide
Account typeElectronic money account provided under the Electronic Money Regulations, not a high street bank account. Funds are not covered by the Financial Services Compensation Scheme.Business account from Tide, which is not a bank. Tide is authorised by the FCA as an electronic money issuer, and eligible deposits held with ClearBank are protected by the FSCS up to 120,000 pounds per depositor.
Who it suitsUnited Kingdom small businesses and freelancers who want a business account combined with invoicing and tax tools.Sole traders and small limited companies in the United Kingdom that want a free or low cost account with invoicing and admin tools in an app. Some business structures and industries are not accepted.
Monthly feeFree: 0 pounds. Grow: 12.90 pounds plus VAT a month. Business: 22.90 pounds plus VAT a month. Big Business: 59.90 pounds plus VAT a month. As of 11 October 2026.Free plan no monthly fee; Smart about 12.49 pounds per month; Pro about 27.49 pounds per month; Max about 69.99 pounds per month, as of 29 May 2026.
Transaction feesThe Free plan has unlimited outgoing transfers. The first 1,000 pounds of incoming payments each month are free, then 0.95 percent applies. Business includes 60 free transfers a month, then 20 pence each. As of 11 October 2026.The Free plan includes 5 bank transfers a month, Smart 30, and Pro and Max unlimited. Tide's pricing page does not state the charge beyond the allowance or for cash deposits, so check these with Tide. As of 11 October 2026.
FX feesSWIFT transfers carry a 1 percent currency conversion fee on Free, Grow and Business, and 0.5 percent on Big Business. ANNA's pricing page does not state a card fee abroad, so check it with ANNA Money. As of 11 October 2026.International bank transfers and SWIFT payments are available on all plans. Card payments abroad carry a 2.75% FX fee on the Free plan and 0% on Smart, Pro and Max. As of 11 October 2026.
Minimum depositNo minimum opening deposit is published. Verify with ANNA Money.No headline minimum opening deposit is published. Verify with the provider, as of 29 May 2026.
Multi currencyANNA Money is a pounds sterling account and multi currency holding is limited. Verify current currency support with ANNA Money. As of 5 June 2026.Primarily a sterling account, with international payment features available. Confirm current multi currency options with the provider, as of 29 May 2026.
IntegrationsInvoicing, expense, and tax tools are built in, with exports for bookkeeping. Verify current integrations with ANNA Money.Invoicing, expense, and accounting tools, with connections to common accounting software. Confirm current integrations with the provider.
EligibilityUnited Kingdom sole traders and limited companies. Check the residency and entity rules, including for partnerships, with ANNA Money.You must be at least eighteen, have a United Kingdom mobile number, and be registered with HMRC as a sole trader or with Companies House as a limited company, with a valid address. Some business types and industries are not accepted, as of 29 May 2026.
Broadly available inUnited Kingdom only, open to United Kingdom residents. As of 5 June 2026.United Kingdom.

ANNA Money suits a United Kingdom sole trader or small company that makes many outgoing payments and receives under 1,000 pounds a month, since the Free plan has unlimited outgoing transfers. Tide suits a United Kingdom business that wants FSCS protection on eligible deposits held with ClearBank, which ANNA's main account does not have. Tide also accepts limited companies whose directors live overseas.

Open a business account

Both providers accept business customers in their supported markets. Fees and eligibility shown as of 5 June 2026 for ANNA Money and 29 May 2026 for Tide. Confirm current terms with the provider before applying.

Visit ANNA Money → Commission link: we may earn a fee if you open an account through it. It does not change what we publish or how we rank providers. Read the Tide review →

Questions about ANNA Money and Tide

Which is better for my business, ANNA Money or Tide?
It depends on your needs. The table on this page compares ANNA Money and Tide on account type, fees, currency support, eligibility and availability using each provider's published terms. Weigh those against how your business operates, then confirm current terms with each provider. This is information, not advice.
Can I open both ANNA Money and Tide?
Often yes, subject to each provider's eligibility rules. Some businesses keep more than one account, for example one for everyday banking and another for currency conversion. Check eligibility with each provider before applying.
Are the fees on this page current?
Each figure is shown with the date it was recorded. ANNA Money figures are shown as of 5 June 2026 and Tide figures as of 29 May 2026. Fees and eligibility change, so confirm current terms with each provider before you apply.

Fees, features, and eligibility change and vary by region. This page was last reviewed on 11 October 2026. Confirm current terms with each provider before applying.

Compare and related

Related comparisons